In the pursuit of perfect homebrew, failure still makes beer.

UnSeasonally released seasonals?

Here’s my quick and dirty view on the release of seasonal beers early, e.g. Pumpkin beers in August.

I believe that there’s not much a beer drinker can complain about in this day and age. But, alas, there will always be one bellyacher griping about something. And misery breeds company. So, succinctly, complaining about the seasonal appropriateness of beer releases can toe the line between Aficionado and Snob.

Yes, some beers are by nature seasonal. See: Oktoberfest lagers, winter warmers, summer Radler beers. But season-centric thinking stems from the celebration of ingredients, and ultimately flavors, that are abundant at that time. Therefore, drinking a pumpkin beer in July is much akin to eating a Thanksgiving dinner in March; it’s not the perfect time to indulge, but it’s still goddamn delicious. Ever had breakfast for dinner? It’s about breaking the norm. Go ahead, indulge that craving for vanilla bourbon porter on a summer night! Be bad!

I have a good friend of mine that preaches his year-round love for pumpkin beers in particular. I personally won’t join him most times, but I do respect his resolve. We came up with a hashtag for out-of-season drinking: #drinkwhatyouwantwhenyouwant. Feel free to use it!

All are entitled to an opinion if their own, but on my blog you will probably hear mine. Thoughts?

3 responses

  1. Blake Daniels

    I guess that I’m split on this one. On one hand I love beers like Southern Tier’s Pumking and would definitely drink it year-round. On the other hand, it’s a seasonal fall beer and seeing it on shelves in late July seems to kill summer for me. Not sure what I’m getting at but that’s just my two cents.

    I was also wondering if you ever worked with other writers on posts for your site? I’ve been homebrewing for a while and I’m trying to do some beer-related writing, so I thought that I’d reach out to you and see if this is something you might be interested in.

    Looking forward to hearing back from you.

    Cheers,
    Blake

    September 10, 2013 at 1:03 pm

    • @Blake, I’d be wicked interested in blogging with you. What do you have in mind? Send me a PM here or on Twitter and we can collab.

      September 19, 2013 at 3:24 pm

  2. Ben

    great blog fellow homebrewer!

    September 19, 2013 at 1:46 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,294 other followers