In the pursuit of perfect homebrew, failure still makes beer.

New Brew: Oompah!

Flavor is proven to be enhanced whilst listening to polka music.

This was my first take on a German style that is one of my favorites, the Oktoberfest Märzen. A few differences were the addition of flaked barley for increased body, my (accidental) use of English Ale Yeast, and the fact that this was the first recipe that I designed completely myself. It will be improved and will evolve with multiple brew sessions of the same beer.

I also took more care to siphon out hot break/cold break proteins with a turkey baster. This, I think, would help the beer clear in the secondary as well as promote a rounder, more even flavor. In the past, I’ve done my best to strain out hop garbage and protein coagulate with a wire strainer – hopefully this will produce some noticeable difference.

The recipe is linked in the recipe log.

Leave a Reply

