In the pursuit of perfect homebrew, failure still makes beer.

Oh My Gah, It’s Been a Year Already. Decadance Aged Homebrew Review

So back in January I brewed a Chocolate Oalmeal Stout that I wasn’t particularly proud of. Reading about it here, I got some dirty astringency and other “green” flavors I wasn’t too proud of. Then again, it was only my 4th-ish batch of beer, and mistakes are usually going to happen in the early stages of learning to brew, hence the learning part. I didn’t think I was a good homebrewer. Much to my spritely young homebrewer-mind’s dismay, the only action I could take to salvage the beer was to… wait. Age it, my all-knowing beer club said, and all will come to pass.

I hated the idea! I wanted my stout to be delicious NOW! But I couldn’t bring myself to throw it away. I socked it into my beer/liquor cabinet where it waited patiently. I forgot about it while I made more successful beers, and made a few more mistakes. The more I learned, the more I hoped that I could someday seek retribution from the hopefully-merciful god of fermentation and receive, in the wake of my newfound respect for beer, a miracle for the stout.

The waiting game was finally played out when Thanksgiving rolled around this year. I was looking for a delicious, warming beer to complement my impending after-turkey coma, when it hit me – I still had homebrew in the closet! Aged homebrew, the most coveted of all homebrew! On the day of giving thanks, the moment I opened the bottle cap my feelings of nervous excitement came to a point. I couldn’t wait any longer.

Nectar of the chocolate-loving gods.

I tweeted my delight after sipping the first trappings of this truly decadent homebrew:

I was in heaven. My wish was granted. My beer had bettered ridiculously with age! The added Belgian Chocolate ingredients finally came through with a silky texture and dark chocolate taste that was complimented, surprisingly, by a citrus flavor. It reminded me of something you’d find in a Ghiradelli chocolate bowl at your grandma’s house. It finished with an amazing roasted malt and coffee flavor, which lingered until your next sip. It was a beer I could submerge myself in.

So lesson learned: sometimes patience is the most important ingredient in homebrewing.

Leave a Reply

