In the pursuit of perfect homebrew, failure still makes beer.

The Bono Brew House Yeast, V1.0

Microbial magic!

Since my last fermentation went so well, I decided to harvet the yeast cake from the bottom of my carboy. This way I can try it out with different recipes and maybe start developing a fermentation profile that is unique to my beers.

I mixed two White Labs Yeast strains for my Great Pumpkin Ale. So, I had a lot of yeast multiplied up in the yeast cake at the bottom of the carboy once I siphoned the beer off into the keg. I used the following steps to wash and recover this yeast:

  1. Rack your beer per usual.
  2. Take 1L of sterile (pre-boiled) water at room temperature and empty it into the carboy on top of the yeast cake.
  3. Swirl the carboy to rightly suspend the yeast.
  4. Pour the entire suspension into a 2L beaker (or jar, whatever you have). Store the sealed flask in the fridge overnight.
  5. Remove the flask from the fridge and decant the liquid from the top of the settled yeast. Suspend again with sterile water and store in the fridge.
  6. Again, decant the fluid after keeping it in the fridge.

According to Chris White’s and Jamil Zainasheff’s Yeast book, the yeast should be stored at cold temps (33F-36F) for at the most 14 days. So I guess that means you’ll get some more homebrewed goodness in two weeks! Tally ho!

Leave a Reply

