In the pursuit of perfect homebrew, failure still makes beer.

Sandy Shores Rye Wit – Brew Day has Come At Last!

I’ve been sitting on these ingredients for almost a month. Time to get them into Big Blue, and make him work for the title I’ve bestowed upon him.

It’s always an emotional beer that I brew in late June/early July, because I usually plan to take a case up to my family vacation in Old Orchard Beach in Maine. Running in its 23rd year strong, it’s an impressive run that has no real end in sight. And when 13+ family get together in a house for a week, there’s obviously going to be some hijinks ensuing. Last year I brewed the Saco Summer, which was my attempt at a Sam Summer clone, and I had a great time infusing my beer with some cool ingredients like grains of paradise and orange peel. This year I’m moving towards a less adventurous ingredients bill, but focusing instead on a nice recipe and easy drinkability that follows.

I made my calculations using Brewcalcs.com, a free website that throws down mash and sparge calcs for you right to your computer’s doorstep. Plus they have an android app available, which I can’t use but mobile brewing math is something I’m always for.

I’m using a thinner mash because the majority of my grain bill is wheat. A thin mash (1.5qt mash water/lb), according to several varied resources, will prove more useful than a stiff mash (1.2qt/lb) with wheat due to its smaller grain size, wich leads to poor crushing. Also, it will improve my efficiency, which with a new mash tun can’t be a bad thing.

Recipe is here. My calculations below:

Grain Temp: 80F (it’s hot in herrrr)
Grain Pounds: 11
Quarts/Pounds Ratio: 1.5

Beta-Glucan
Target mash temp: 110F
Strike Water Temp: 114F
Volume of water: 4.1 G
Duration: 15 min

Protein Rest
Target rest temp: 135F
Infusion water temp: 210F
Volume of water: 1.6 Gal
Duration: 15 min

Conversion
Target rest temp: 150F
Infusion water temp: 210F
Volume of water: 1.6 Gal

I’m doing a no-sparge system, mostly because I’m lazy and I have other things to do tomorrow. 😀

Pics and tweets to follow, follow the live twitter with #releasethekrausen, brew partners are always welcome too!

UPDATE: Getting to about 20 minutes before the mash ends, so I’m calculating my theoretical yield to find the efficiency for my new system. You measure efficiency by finding the theoretical sugar contributions from each ingredient in your mash, dividing by the volume of wort collected, and then measuring your actual gravity post-mash to see how heavy your mash is. Reference here for a quick internet calculation explanation, or grab your favorite all-in-one brewing guide, like mine, How to Brew by John Palmer.

My 100% theoretical is 1.080. We’ll see where my actual is in about 15 minutes.

Leave a Reply

